Russell the Sheep

9780060598488

Rob Scotton’s Russell the Sheep is an amazing book to read with kindergarteners. The language is just right for them and the pictures are very silly. In a continuing effort to incorporate math throughout the curriculum, I used this book to practice counting. Russell counts sheep in the book to try and fall asleep, so I had kindergarteners count the sheep as I handed out blank pictures of sheep for them to color. Each sheep had a number on it, and I displayed them in order in my library. The kids loved having their own number and getting to color (of course.) Just an idea that worked well with my kids!

IMG_0025 IMG_0026

Leave a Reply

